From 1 January 2016, the esaa secretariat ceased operating.  The change follows a decision by the member companies of the esaa, Energy Retailers Association of Australia (ERAA) and the Energy Networks Association (ENA) to reorganise and rationalise their representative associations to better reflect the changes underway in the energy industry:

  • The merchant, non-network energy businesses commenced a new association, the Australian Energy Council. The ERAA has merged into this new organisation.  
  • The ENA continues to serve its network members and engage with stakeholders, however it has also absorbed responsibility for Grid Australia’s activities on behalf of the electricity transmission sector.

From 1 January 2016, the esaa became jointly owned and managed by the Australian Energy Council and the ENA and its Board now consists of representatives of the Australian Energy Council and the ENA.

The ENA continues to be led by its Chief Executive John Bradley, while the Australian Energy Council appointed former esaa Chief Executive, Matthew Warren, as its inaugural Chief Executive. Interim ERAA Chief Executive Alex Fraser has been retained by the Australian Energy Council as its General Manager, Retail.

For energy industry information please see the ENA and/or Australian Energy Council websites:


To contact ENA:

Phone: +61 (0)2 6272 1555
Address: Unit 4, 110 Giles Street,
Kingston ACT 2604


Australian Energy Council

To contact the Australian Energy Council:

Phone: +61 (0)3 9205 3100
Address: Level 14, 50 Market Street,
Melbourne VIC 3000